Oprah Will Receive Cecil B. Demille Award At Golden Globes [Watch]

by Olivia Butler

December 14, 2017

Photo by Jason LaVeris/FilmMagic

A huge congratulations goes out to Oprah Winfrey for being the newest recipient of the Cecil B. DeMille Award!

According to Variety Morgan Freeman, who received the same award in 2012, announced Winfrey’s honoree status during the airing of the Hollywood Foreign Press Association’s (HFPA) “Golden Globe 75th Anniversary Special,” which aired on NBC.

Other recent honorees include Audrey Hepburn, Barbra Streisand, Denzel Washington, George Clooney, Harrison Ford, Jodie Foster, Lucille Ball, Martin Scorsese, Meryl Streep, Michael Douglas, Robert De Niro, Robin Williams, Sidney Poitier, and Steven Spielberg.

Winfrey has been celebrated by the HFPA before, with a Golden Globe Award nomination for her role in “The Color Purple” in 1986.

Watch Freeman announce Winfrey as the 2018 Cecil B. DeMille Award recipient below:

TELL US: Share your congratulations for Oprah in the comments!

Like TV One on Facebook and be sure to follow us on Instagram and Twitter.